January 22, 2012: Action 1. Start this blog.

Change does not roll in on the wheels of inevitability, but comes through continuous struggle. And so we must straighten our backs and work for our freedom. A man can’t ride you unless your back is bent.” -MLK

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.” – Margaret Mead.

Well, here I am, starting a new journey in blog land to document my steps – at least the next 350 of them- to combat climate change. Why 350?  http://www.350.org/animation is a good way to visualize the importance of this number, which many people agree is an upper limit of an acceptable level of CO2 equivalents in our atmosphere before REALLY bad crap starts happening. Not that bad crap isnt already happening, but, you know, it can certainly get much worse.

My objective with this blog is not to provide yet another site full of the science and policies of global warming. There are so many incredible organizations and institutions already doing this amazing work: http://www.350.org/en, http://climaterealityproject.org, http://www.ucsusa.org; I couldnt hope to repeat or rephrase what they say nearly as articulately as they can. What I hope to do here is to document my process of educating myself about the science of climate change and the actions that I am taking as 1 human being to combat climate change. I am a scientist- not a climate change scientist, but an ecologist who can critically read the scientific literature; I am an educator; I am a mom; and I am a human being who like most every other human being wants this planet to have a viable future. Those are my qualifications I will be bringing to this task.

My hope is that this blog will be a tool to keep me on track and focused on my commitment, and I hope I can perhaps inspire some others along the way. Why? Because for the sake of her daughter and my friends and my family and my broader global family, I cannot possibly sit back and be silent as we continue to pave our way towards the decline of our quality of life and of the quality of life of everything else on this little blue ball sailing through space. So here’s Action 1, starting this blog. 349 or more are hopefully forthcoming. I hope you will join me.

One thought on “January 22, 2012: Action 1. Start this blog.

Leave a Reply

