Action 47. Meatless Monday is awesome, thanks to Bittman!

Waaaay back in Action 6 I committed to eating lower on the food chain for the good of our climate, and as another meatless Monday rolled around, I went back to my gastronomical muse, Mark Bittman. I know, I keep bringing him up, but I can’t help it- the guy is good! I’m just going to go  ahead and share this recipe, because it was so darned yummy, filling, healthy, and low on the carbon food chain.

ROASTED VEGETABLE SOUP

  • 1 onion
  • 1 head garlic, cloves separated and peeled
  • 1 med eggplant
  • 1 zuccini
  • 2 med size potatoes (I used 4 smaller fingerlings)
  • 2 plum tomatoes
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
  • 1/2 c extra-virgin olive oil
  • 6 cups vegetable broth
  • (these items I added to the recipe: 30 oz chickpeas and 1/2 cup uncooked orzo; plus a handful of herbs from the garden, we had parsley, lemon thyme, oregano and chives so that’s what I threw in).

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450°F. Coarsely chop all the veggies except chickpeas and put them in a roasting or baking dish. Toss with all but 2 tbsp of the olive oil, and the salt, pepper and cumin. Roast in oven 45 mins. Remove from oven and put in a large soup pot with vegetable stock, and puree (which you can do however you like- puree all, some, or none of it, depending on how you like your texture. I did half and half). Simmer 15 mins to marry flavors, then add chickpeas and orzo and simmer another 15. At end, stir in rest of olive oil and chopped herbs. 

Serve with a handful of shredded parm-regg on top if you like.

Happy low-carbon eating!

 

 

Leave a Reply

